Day 3 – 7th Annual Flats & Handwashing Challenge

This post is the third of seven, all of which document my participation in the 7th Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge hosted by Cloth Diaper Revival. For seven days I will be only using flat cloth diapers and covers. I will be handwashing them in an effort to demonstrate that cloth diapering can be affordable and accessible to all. You can learn more about the rules and why this challenge was started by visiting the original post.

Today is the third day of the Challenge and all participants were asked to share our favorite fold.

When I first got my flats a few months ago, I tried out all the folds to see which worked best for us and the kite fold is the one that stuck around. I have been using the kite fold almost exclusively now because I like how trim it is, I like being able to jelly roll the sides, and I like how it is just really easy to put on.

The other fold we have been utilizing is the airplane fold.  I like all the absorbency near the front; that works well for my daughter and gives me good practice should I ever have a son!

Sadly, I am not a huge fan of the padfold. However, I am not giving up hope on that quick and easy favorite just yet. Maybe next year 🙂

The graphic below is how I do the kite fold, along with the extra step of adding a fleece liner (really, I just needed 9 pictures). This fold has caused me to fall even more in love with my Green Mountain Diaper Clotheez flats because they are keep their square shape.

IMG_9888

So how did the third day of flats all day and washing by hand go?

Baby CC is in bed now and I think our day went pretty well. Using flats is really not a challenge (maybe it will be next year when I have a wiggly toddler to wrangle) and I enjoyed learning the different folds. The one aspect of the challenge that I actually find challenge is the wash routine. I mistakenly thought, “Oh, handwashing. Just a lot of scrubbing and plunging and a tiny amount of soap. I can handle that.” Apparently not. I suck at handwashing and still have yet to find a comfortable or efficient routine. Hopefully, tomorrow’s post is not a lament about my washing routine, but at this point it might be!

Today we used 10 flats and 3 covers and 8 liners. I find myself reaching most often for my Imagine and Nicki’s Diapers covers first and then follow those with a Blueberry Capri. I am a little surprised by that since everyone only has positive things to say about Blueberry; I thought that they would be my favorite. But I love the fit of the Imagine and Nicki’s Diaper covers. Now, if I could just have the company make prints in my preferred colors and patterns…

Out of curiosity, out of all your stash (not just your stash for the Challenge), what is your favorite brand for fit?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to read about other participants’ favorite folds!

Leave a Reply

