What’s in my diaper bag?

What's Inside-

There are three things I will not leave behind when I exit my front door with my car keys in hand: my cell phone, my baby in her car seat, and the diaper bag.

Right now my daughter is seven months old and this is a normal “pack” for a four hour outing. Our outings (usually to a bible study or a visit to a friend’s/family member’s house) always have the potential of lasting a bit longer than anticipated, so I try to take that into account when I pack. I am a first time mom – however, I do try hard not to over-stuff the diaper bag!

My diaper bag is a Boxy Backpack from Petunia Picklebottom. When I was pregnant and trying to decide which baby items were necessary, which would be nice if we could find room in the budget, and which were complete luxuries, I put the diaper bag in the complete luxury category. I had a little Vera Bradley diaper bag which was a hand-me-down and thankfully black. Before my baby shower, my sister-in-law inquired about the lack of a diaper bag on my baby registry and then asked me to choose my favorite design from Petunia Picklebottom. When this diaper bag arrived, I fell in love with it! I love the fold-out changing pad, the simplicity of the interior pockets, the magnetic closures with the option to firmly snap the flap down, the different ways to carry the bag, and the easy-to-wipe-down exterior finish. This has been the perfect diaper bag for us so far.

Inside the two pockets above the fold-out changing pad, I keep wipes, two or three disposable diapers, and diaper rash cream (hidden behind the sposies). Inside the main interior pocket, I lay the extra outfit, the swaddle blanket, the burpy bibs, and all the plastic bags on the bottom. (The extra plastic bags are an emergency wet bag and/or trash container for the wipes if there is no trash can nearby.) On top of those items, I put my wallet at one end for easy access, the wet/dry bag, and the gDiapers. Usually I only go into my diaper bag for a diaper change and I like to be able to see how many clean diapers we have left.

In the exterior pockets along the side of the diaper bag, I stick my sunglasses in one pocket and little toys in the other.

And that’s it!

Honest opinions please – is this too much? Is there something that your baby needed as he/she got older that I might want to add in soon?

Leave a Reply

